Useful #Avocados

Do you like avocados? I like them but I have to disguise them for one family member. I serve them chopped or mashed and sprinkled with salt and lemon juice. Maybe I place them under chopped beetroot so the taste is disguised! For breakfast, I like them on wholemeal toast sprinkled with home-grown chilli flakes.

What to do with all those avocado stones? I allow them to get wet under a garden sprinkler and hope for shoots.

2016-06-01 Avocado stones

Just a few avocado stones

I may also place them in the soil around a plant in a shady container. They are watered regularly. The avocado stones enjoy the warmth. Eventually, they develop leaves and a strong tap root. Now I plant them in sunny and shady places. I think those in shade will thrive. The young avocado plant in full sun may not be so successful. We’ll wait and see. I surround them with chicken wire to keep them safe from our dogs who like to chew young, tender leaves!

2016-06-Avocado- young plant

A young avocado plant

As trees, they take some time to fruit but the foliage is attractive. I prefer them as a group or in a row.

Comments or suggestions

