The #Mystery

We Great Danes, Stellar and Venus, like to sniff and stick our noses into things. I like the old basket. I like to mess it up. It’s full of soft and hard things, thin stringy stuff and soft woolly stuff. It smells of sweat, sheep, insects and dust. I want to eat the things. I try to make it all into a nest with my nose.

Khaki thread to repair an orange item.

Khaki thread to repair an orange item.


Me-The sewing basket is in a high cupboard in the kitchen. The sharp needles thread through pink felt and the pins are in a small box. I begin to set up my trusty old portable sewing machine. It’s been my friend for many years. I need red thread. Er, where’s the reel of red cotton? Oh well there’s another one, slightly lighter, more orangey. Isn’t there? Um, no. It’s here but it’s all broken and won’t fit around the cotton reel holder on the machine. Ah ha. Someone’s been snuffling in my sewing basket. I wonder who? I hope they enjoyed eating and digesting the reel of red thread. I suppose they tried the orange reel and someone rescued it before it was swallowed.
The blue and red reels are well chewed!

The blue and red reels are well chewed!


When others borrow your sewing basket don’t expect them to tell you that the dogs ate some for lunch!

Comments or suggestions

