Great Danes And Scary #Spiders

I’m a Great Dane so I’m a great big dog. One day half my face got huge. The nice man put a needle in me (ouch!) and I got better. I think I saw a big black spider. Maybe I sniffed it. Maybe it crawled into my crate while I slept in the basement-creepy! Perhaps it bit me-ugh! It made me feel sad and I was scared to walk about. Soon I was wagging my tail again!

A baby Cyprus Tarantula in the garden sink. I let it go.

A baby Cyprus Tarantula in the garden sink. I let it go.


Me-When our house was first built, we had visits from Cyprus tarantulas. Someone said they were revisiting the land where they lived before our place was there. I put a towel over three and stamped on them. After finding out that their bites weren’t poisonous but like a bee sting, I felt guilty. Usually I leave spiders alone as I imagine they are mums with babies! Lately after many years, we have had more visits. This is because a neighbour planted banana trees in which black spiders live here in Cyprus. This time I freed the one I found but friends kill them. Who is right? They have a right to live but our dogs have a right to be safe in their own garden.

Comments or suggestions

